Election Commission issues notification for vice presidential polls

Election Commission issues notification for vice presidential pollsUpdated on : 04-07-2017 10:34 PM
The Election Commission on Tuesday issued notification for the election of country's vice president. As per the schedule the polls will take place on August 5.

The counting of the votes will also take place on the same day. The term of incumbent Mohd. Hamid Ansari is completing on 10th August, 2017.

The process to elect the 13th Vice President of India began on Tuesday with the Election Commission issuing notification for the polls. The last date to file nominations is 18th July while the last day of withdrawal of nominations is 21st July.

If needed, the election to take place on August 5 from 10 in the morning to 5 o'clock in the evening. Counting will also take place on the same day immediately after which the results will be declared.

In India, the office of the Vice President is the second most important constitutional office after that of the President. The Vice President is also the ex-officio Chairman of the Rajya Sabha. The Vice President is elected through secret voting by the members of both houses of parliament.

They elect the Vice President through the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote. The nominated Members of Rajya Sabha as well as of the Lok Sabha are also eligible to vote in the election.

The nomination paper of a candidate for the election has to be subscribed by at least twenty electors as proposers and at least another twenty electors as seconders. No political party can issue whip to its MPs in the Vice Presidential election.

Currently there are 243 members in the Rajya Sabha include 8 nominated members. Two seats in the Upper House are vacant. The ruling BJP has 56 Rajya Sabha MPs. With its allies, the number in BJP's favor go up to 77.

Congress has 58 members in Rajya Sabha while with its allies it has the support of 84 members in total. Other regional parties including SP and BSP have 82 members. In Lok Sabha the ruling NDA has a massive support of 338 members including 282 MPs of BJP in the 543 member house.

(SA - @04/07)

Delhi Police, NSG conduct mock drill at Hauz ...

Delhi Police, NSG conduct mock drill at Hauz ...

Updated on : 15-06-2017 08:47 AM
A mock drill was carried out jointly by the teams of Delhi Police and National Security Guard in south Delhi's Hauz Khas village on Wednesday evening to check preparedness of....
Current Affairs
I&B Minister Venkaiah Naidu launches new DD News we...

Information and Broadcasting Minister Venkaiah Naidu on Thursday launched the new website of DD News, www.ddnews.gov.in.

Updated on : 06-07-2017 02:16 PM

DD News,Copernicus Marg
New Delhi-110001
Phone No. :
Designed and maintained by National Informatics Centre(NIC)

Since December 2013
Total Visitors:52214897
© Copyright DDNews 2013, All Rights Reserved.